It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MS 51 Library: Home
Library homepage for MS 51 William Alexander Middle School
Since our physical building closed in March 2020, Ms. Ahart has been collecting free reading resources online for students, so please use the Remote Learning Resource List to help you find your next great read when you are learning at home!
Borrow eBooks and eAudiobooks in Sora & Brooklyn Public Library
MS 51 students have access to TWO collections in Sora AND can integrate their Brooklyn Public Library information to search for ebooks in one app! Sign in with your k051.org account information and you can search for books in a browser or download the app to your phone or iPad. Here’s a step-by-step tutorial on how to set up and use Sora to find your next great read.
Get an e-card from Brooklyn Public Library to borrow e-books and audiobooks and find lots of other wonderful free books and resources while we're all home during the school shutdown & COVID-19 pandemic. If you have any trouble with the online application, email Ms, Ahart to get connected directly to a Brooklyn Public Librarian who can help!
Library Book Returns
All library books borrowed in 2020 are due back now. Blended students are visiting the library once or twice a month with their ELA classes and they can also drop off books in the library during homeroom on their in-person days. Fully remote students can drop off overdue library books at the school between 8 am and 3 pm. VIEW THE LIBRARY SCHEDULE FOR BLENDED STUDENT BOOK CHECKOUT.
Visit the online home of our NYC Cooperative Collection Development (CCD) collection about feminism and women's history! This unique collection of NYS-funded resources supports teaching and learning about the history of feminism and feminist issues, global women's rights, and US women's history including the fight for suffrage.
Username & password available in the library. Watch animated movies, play learning games, and more. Includes BrainPOP, BrainPOP Español, and, for English language learners, BrainPOP ESL. Videos and activities cover topic areas within science, math, social studies, English language arts, and others.
Username & password available in the library. Cultural information on the nations of the world as well as the individual states of the US. Available features include country reports, photo galleries, video clips, short biographies, interviews, recipes, and timelines.
No password necessary. Thousands of curriculum-targeted primary documents, biographies, essays, critical analyses, and full-text coverage of more than 1,000 magazines and newspapers. Also includes more than 20,000 photographs, illustrations, and audio and video clips. Useful for all subjects.
Log in with your k051.org Google account info. Current events stories indexed by broad theme (e.g. War and Peace, Arts, Science, Health, Law, Money), student-friendly, can be accessed in different formats by reading level.
No password necessary. Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.
Excellent for argument essays & debates.
Username & password available in the library. Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more. Excellent for argument essays & debates.