Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Databases for Research
As an MS 51 student, you have access to many databases for research directly and with your MyLibraryNYC card from Brooklyn Public Library. Here are some great places to start your research before you Google widely!
Remember as you do research to collect your sources and cite them properly! MyBib.com is a great tool for making citations and a works cited page for a research project in ANY subject. You can make a free account with your k051.org Gmail account and save your citations directly to Google Drive and share them with your classmates for group projects. If you'd like a thorough video tutorial to get you started, you can watch this presentation from Ms. Laverde at Townsend Harris High School... replace "Townsend Harris High School account" with "k051.org accounts" and "New York Public Library" with "Brooklyn Public Library" and everything will work the same for you!
Try these sites & tools to get a fresh perspective on your online search.
Need a specific word or phrase to come up in your search? Put it "in quotes."
Want to look only within a particular site? Google "site:" and then the URL for the site you want to search. (Ex: site:ms51.org)
Want a specific file type? A JPG, a GIF, a PDF? Include file:filetype (ex. file:jpg) and your search terms.
Need something very recent? Use the "tools" dropdown menu to select a time range for your results.
Use Control+F to find specific words or phrases within your results document.
Quickly organize your search results into topic folders, circles, or trees. Highly visual. Good for expanding your search terms.
Searches across multiple search engines and online reference tools. Compare searches to see how the results change.
Reverse Image Search Instructions
Does that picture use look fishy to you? Use Google Reverse Image search to find related pictures around the web.
See the web as it was! 20+ years on internet history searchable here. Compare sites over time.
Database Tools to Look For!
Most databases have tools within them to help you organize your research. Look for these common features to get you started:
- Accessibility tools: Look for controls to make the font size larger or smaller for easier reading. Many databases also have a text-to-voice option so that you can listen to the article being read aloud.
- Print & email buttons: Use the print-friendly option if you need hard copy of the article or, even better, email yourself the link to save it for later.
- Citations: Most databases will either provide a citation for the article at the very bottom or give you a link in a side bar to create a citation in a variety of formats.
- Definitions: Double click a word or highlight a word within a student database and often a definition will pop up!
African-American Experience (ABC-CLIO)
Available through Brooklyn Public Library with a MyLibraryNYC card number & PIN. A collection of scholarly articles and primary source documents on African American history and culture. Includes books, speeches, letters, photographs, illustrations and audio clips.
American History (ABC-CLIO)
Available through Brooklyn Public Library with a MyLibraryNYC card number & PIN. Conduct research on American history with more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including overview essays, biographies, government and court documents, photos, maps, audio/video clips, and statistics.
American Indian Experience (ABC-CLIO)
Available through Brooklyn Public Library with a MyLibraryNYC card number & PIN. A collection of scholarly articles and primary source documents covering American Indian history from the paleolithic to the present. Includes treaties, speeches, and captivity narratives as well as traditional storytelling, maps, photographs, and video.
Username & password available in the library. Watch animated movies, play learning games, and more. Includes BrainPOP, BrainPOP Español, and, for English language learners, BrainPOP ESL. Videos and activities cover topic areas within science, math, social studies, English language arts, and others.
Username & password available in the library. Cultural information on the nations of the world as well as the individual states of the US. Available features include country reports, photo galleries, video clips, short biographies, interviews, recipes, and timelines.
No password necessary. Electronic version of the general encyclopedia, for all subjects.
Available through Brooklyn Public Library with MyLibraryNYC library card number & PIN. Read e-books and watch online videos based on titles from the Cornerstones of Freedom nonfiction American & world history book series. Includes report and project ideas, quizzes, and lesson plans.
Gale Research in Context
No password necessary. Thousands of curriculum-targeted primary documents, biographies, essays, critical analyses, and full-text coverage of more than 1,000 magazines and newspapers. Also includes more than 20,000 photographs, illustrations, and audio and video clips. Useful for all subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Available through Brooklyn Public Library with a MyLibraryNYC card number & PIN. 24/7 access to reference ebooks. Titles can be browsed, searched, and downloaded anytime from any Internet-connected device. Topics include arts, business, education, history, law, literature, medicine, religion, science, and social science.
Health Reference Center
No password necessary. Resources from the New York State Online Virtual Library database collection relating to health studies. Health reference topics include immunization, youth sports, food allergies and more.
No password necessary. National Library of Medicine’s database of health information for consumers and health professionals. Includes information on over 750 health topics, drugs and supplements, medical encyclopedia, dictionaries, interactive tutorials, and surgery videos. Also includes health information in over 40 languages.
Log in with your k051.org Google account info. Current events stories indexed by broad theme (e.g. War and Peace, Arts, Science, Health, Law, Money), student-friendly, can be accessed in different formats by reading level.
Available through Brooklyn Public Library with MyLibraryNYC card number & PIN. Find good books for kids, whether fiction or nonfiction. This online resource includes reading recommendations from librarians. Search for books by reading level, genre, content, time period, and more.
No password necessary. Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.
Excellent for argument essays & debates.
Available through Brooklyn Public Library with a MyLibraryNYC card number & PIN. Covers major science areas like Earth Science, Space, Life Science, Human Body, Physics, and Engineering, with general overviews and articles for deeper understanding. Includes videos, project ideas, experiments, quizzes, and information about careers in science.
Available through Brooklyn Public Library with a MyLibraryNYC card number & PIN. Areas covered include: current events, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. Includes newspaper and magazine articles, material from DK Eyewitness books, and science experiment ideas. Search for something specific or explore a variety of topics and current events.
SIRS Issues Researcher
Username & password available in the library. Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more. Excellent for argument essays & debates.
TeachingBooks.net is an online database that can be used by teachers, students, librarians, and families to explore children's books and young adult literature and their authors. The database provides access to educational materials and programs (short movies, audio book readings, book discussion guides) that add a multimedia dimension to reading in the classroom, library, and home.
Available through Brooklyn Public Library with a MyLibraryNYC card number & PIN. Read and listen to e-books and watch videos online based on titles from the Trueflix nonfiction book series. Also look up project ideas, extra information, and lesson plans for teachers and others.
Username & password available in the library. General encyclopedia, good for all subjects.
World History: Ancient & Medieval Eras (ABC-CLIO)
Available through Brooklyn Public Library with a MyLibraryNYC card number & PIN. Scholarly articles and primary source records that illuminate early human history—from prehistoric times to the beginnings of the Renaissance. Includes information on ancient Africa, the ancient Americas, the early Islamic world, ancient and medieval Europe, and early Asian civilization.
World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO)
Available through Brooklyn Public Library with a MyLibraryNYC card number & PIN. Scholarly articles and primary source records that illuminate modern history, from the Renaissance to the present.